top of page

Opera:  Carmen, a tragedy, G. Bizet

Tuesday, February 2nd, 19h

National Theater, Main stage


After a long break caused by the pandemic, Rossi Fest is organizing the first opera premiere in Belgrade. The famous work by Georges Bizet, directed by Ana Grigorović and conducted by Stefan Zekić, was performed on September 6, 9, and 15 marking the European Day of Jewish Culture.

In the spirit of European initiatives of large opera houses, Rossi Fest presents opera in an ambient space, following the health measures, the significance of which is greater than the removal from the institution. Carmen, one tragedy shows the direction in which the opera is developing, placing before the audience the work significantly changed, without losing anything of its recognizability and authenticity. The production of Rossi Fest focuses on the social issues of Romani and migrants in the system of European countries, who, during the migrant crisis 2015-2019, faced various forms of discrimination. Carmen, the first Romani opera heroine, sings about freedom, which is the same freedom endangered social groups seek - the right to move, the right to work, and, finally, the right to free love. The location of the Romani settlement in which the opera takes place is not built artificially. Instead, by selecting Dorćol Platz and Slikarnica of the National Theatre, we created it in live and authentic locations. The audience is not a mere observer, but a participant in the action, guests in the characters' living space. Such a concept and the adaptation of the opera itself have not been performed in Serbia so far. A socially engaged opera outside the theater is a unique opportunity to present a new form of artistic research and world trend to the opera audience, finally coming to our country.

The production involved a young but well-established creative team of collaborators and performers, which the local audience already recognizes.



Conductor - Stefan Zekić

Director - Ana Grigorović

Scenography - Dunja Kostić

Costume - Ivana Ivić

Stage movement - Tamara Pjević

Video - Matija Novaković

Light design - Vlada Marinkovski


Carmen - Nataša Rašić

Don Jose - Marko Zivkovic

Escamillo - Vuk Zekić

Mikaela - Evgenija Jeremic

Zuniga - Pavle Zharkov

Lilas Pastja - Nemanja Stamatović

Garcia - Đorđe Živadinović Grgur




Vesna Jansens, concert master

Aleksandra Dimitrijević, violin

Mirko Crnojević, viola

Jasmina Vrbanić, cello

Svetozar Vujić, double bass

Srdjan Jaraković, piano

Ana Popović, flute

Marija Lazić, oboe

Mihailo Samoran, clarinet

Ana Đorđević, bassoon

Igor Lazić, horn

Nenad Ninković, trumpet

Ivan Jovanović, trombone

Aleksandar Radulović, percussion

bottom of page